What You Need to Know About Dealing with Car Insurance Agents After a Crash
- Insurance adjusters of the at-fault vehicle are not on your side. They do not represent you – they represent the person who caused your injuries and their own company.
- The insurance adjuster may be pleasant and have you believe that he or she will handle your damage claim fairly, but the insurance company’s only goal is to minimize losses.
- Never give a recorded or written statement to the insurance company without the advice of your attorney.
- Do not sign any documents or accept payment from an insurance company without talking to your attorney.
- If an insurance adjuster calls you to discuss what happened after a crash, the best thing you can say is: “Please talk to my attorney.”
Settlement or Trial After a Car Crash
In a car accident or motor vehicle accident case, you may decide to settle or take the case to trial. This is your decision, and insurance adjusters and lawyers cannot force you to settle your case.
You should only settle if a settlement provides you with fair compensation for your injuries. In many cases, a lawsuit may be necessary in order to get fair compensation for your past and future medical bills, lost time from work, and pain during recovery. However, a settlement may be reached even after a lawsuit has been filed.
Lawsuits can be risky, expensive, and they may postpone your recovery by more than a year. But they can bring new evidence to light that increases the value of your claim. You can discuss the car accident report with your lawyer to decide what strategy is best for your case.
As an example of the difference between what settlement damages might be compared to a trial result, *Owner and lawyer Brent P. Stewart was able to procure a $77,000 jury verdict in a case where there was originally only $8,000 in medical bills.
Ask Your South Carolina Automobile Accident Lawyer
How Long Do You Have to File a Car Accident Claim in S.C.?
Like all states, South Carolina set statutes of limitations, or time limits, for filing a personal injury or wrongful death claim after an auto collision.
- Personal injury lawsuits must be filed within three years from the date of the accident.
- Wrongful death claims must be filed within three years from the date of death.
Although the statutes of limitations do allow victims time to pursue a claim after a serious motor vehicle accident, it is important that you speak with an attorney as soon as possible after a crash. Building a strong claim for compensation takes time, and evidence can fade if it is not collected quickly. The sooner you contact an experienced South Carolina car accident lawyer, the better.